

OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR

SU/Reg./Notification/2024/035

July 2, 2024

Notification

In accordance with the instructions provided by the University Grants Commission (UGC) on the 'Prevention of Caste-Based Discrimination' in higher education institutions, the University established the 'Minority Cell and Social Welfare Cell', which has now been merged into the new 'Equal Opportunity Cell' at the university level.

The objectives and functions of the Equal Opportunity Cell of the University are enclosed. This initiative aims to create and promote an environment that supports diversity, respects everyone, and ensures the protection of individuals (students, faculty, and staff) belonging to minority communities. The 'Equal Opportunity Cell' will consist of the following members:

Chairperson Dr. Nayyar Parvez, Professor, SOP Dr. Sukhdeep Singh, Professor, SDS Member Dr. Rugaiya Khanam, Professor, SSET Member Dr. A Paul Praveen, Assoc. Professor, SSET Member Ms. Christa Mathew, Assoc. Professor, SSNS&R Member Dr. Monika Jain, Asst. Professor, SSET Member Mr. Dil Prasad Subba, Asst. Professor, SSET Member

 Ms. Areena Reyaz, student of 3rd yr., SDS Special Invitee Mr. Lipokyanger Jamir, student of 2nd yr., SSAHS Special Invitee

This bears the approval of the Competent Authority.

(Vivek Kumar Gupta)

Encl.: As above

To

All Concerned

Copy for kind information:

- Chancellor / Pro Chancellor / CEO
- Vice-Chancellor
- Pro Vice-Chancellor
- Advisor
- All Deans
- Controller of Examinations/ Finance Officer/ Chief Proctor/ Librarian
- All Directors
- All Administrative Heads of the respective Departments and Schools
- Notification file

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY CELL

The constitution of the **Equal Opportunity Cell (EOC)** at the University level is to create and promote an environment that supports diversity and respects everyone, irrespective of colour, caste, culture or religious beliefs. The cell is committed to ensure protection of individuals (students, teachers and non-teaching staff) belonging to the Minority communities, scheduled castes, scheduled tribes, other backward classes and differently abled categories.

Objectives:

- 1. To promote a socially inclusive, safe, and secure environment with equal opportunities for the individuals belonging to the Minority communities, SC, ST, OBC and differently abled categories.
- 2. To empower and encourage the academic upliftment of the individuals from the Minority communities, SC, ST, OBC and differently abled categories.
- 3. To ensure proper implementation of preventive measures and laws against discrimination and atrocities, and to safeguard the rights of individuals belonging to the above listed categories.
- 4. To ensure the psychological wellbeing of individuals belonging to the Minority communities, SC, ST, OBC and differently abled categories in the university.
- 5. To ensure affirmative actions concerning the individuals belonging to Minority communities, SC, ST, OBC and differently abled categories.

Functions:

- 1. To render to the complaints of alleged discrimination from students, teachers and non-teaching staff belonging to the Minority, Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes, other Backward Classes and differently abled category.
- 2. To redress the grievances and complaints of the individuals from the Minority communities, SC, ST, OBC and differently abled categories without compromising the safety, privacy and dignity of the complainant.
- 3. To offer guidance and counselling to individuals belonging to Minority communities, SC, ST, OBC and differently abled categories at the University in various matters.
- 4. The EOC shall send its recommendations, if any, to the Vice-Chancellor of the University preferably within three weeks from the date of the receipt of the complaint.
- 5. The findings / recommendations, if any, will also be sent separately by EOC to the aggrieved party.
- 6. To organize periodic meetings of the EOC and submit the annual review report to the Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor for onward submission to the UGC.

Composition:

The composition of the committee as approved by the Vice-Chancellor shall be as underlined.

1	Senior Professor (SC / ST / OBC / Minority representative)	Chairperson
2	Three Professors / Associate Professors / Assistant Professor (One representative from SC / ST / OBC category)	Member
3	Three Professors / Associate Professors / Assistant Professor (Minority representatives)	Member
4	Two Students' Representative belonging to SC / ST / OBC / Minority	Special Invitee

Note:

- The term of the chairperson and members shall be for a period of two years and the term of the special invitees shall be for one year.
- The quorum for the meeting including the Chairperson, but excluding the special invitee, shall be three.
- In considering the grievances before it, the EOC shall follow principles of natural justice.